Top 5 India’s Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup

Top 5 India's Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup

The first ICC T20 World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007, with India winning the competition. It’s been 14 years, the Indian cricket team has been unable to replicate its success in the ICC T20 World Cup since its inception. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are two of the Indian cricket team’s most successful players in the shortest format. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are also among Team India’s all-time leading run-scorers at the ICC T20 World Cup. As the Super 12 stage of the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup approaches, here’s a quick look at Team India’s leading run-scorer in the ICC T20 World Cup. India is hosting the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman.

Top 5 India's Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup

Who is India’s Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup | All-time Rankings

PosPlayer NameTotal Runs
1)Rohit Sharma847
2)Virat Kohli845
3)Yuvraj Sing593
4)MS Dhoni529
5)Gautam Gambhir524

1. Rohit Sharma Is The India’s Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup With 847 Runs (2007-Present).

Rohit Sharma Is The India's Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup With 847 Runs (2007-Present)

Rohit Sharma, the current T20 captain of the Indian national cricket team, has played in each edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. He has scored 847 runs in 30 innings with a great batting average of 38.56. No one will ever forget his half-century against South Africa in the tournament’s inaugural edition. In the ICC T20 World Cup, the Hitman has six half-centuries. Hitman batted sensibly against a potent South African attack that included Shaun Pollock, Makhaya Ntini, Morne Morkel, and Vernon Philander. For his 40-ball fifty, Rohit was named “Man of the Match.” Rohit also played an important role in the 2007 World Cup final, scoring 30 runs off 16 deliveries and assisting the team in reaching a good total.

Rohit Sharma, who broke multiple records in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. Rohit Sharma’s contribution as a batsman will be very important for team India in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021. If he gets going, it will give India a boost early in the innings and then allow the middle order to freely express themselves with the bat later on.

2. Virat Kohli – 845 Runs (2012-Present)

Virat Kohli Is The second India's Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup With 845 Runs (2012-Present)

The current Indian national cricket team captain Virat Kohli (The run-machine) so far has played 4 ICC T20 World Cups, but he still leads the list of Indians who have scored the most runs in the mega-event. Virat Kohli is the only Indian batsman among the top five of India’s leading run-scorers. Kohli has scored 845 runs in 19 innings, with the highest score of 89 not out, and has done so at an astounding average of 76.81. Virat has also been named “Man of the Tournament” in the previous two editions, in 2014 and 2016. He also holds the record for most runs scored in a single tournament edition. In the ICC T20 World Cup 2014, he scored a whopping 319 runs.

Every Indian cricket fan remembers Virat Kohli’s innings against Australia in the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup. Kohli’s match-winning 82* in a virtual quarterfinal run-chase of 161 runs played a key role in India’s advancement. This is widely regarded as his best T20I innings, and rightly so, as he led the side from 49-3 to the target without playing a single bad shot. 72* against South Africa in the T20 World Cup 2014 Semi-Final is another innings that screamed class. On a difficult track, the half-century against Pakistan in the 2016 edition was also a “Virat-Kohli special.”

Virat Kohli is just 171 runs away from becoming the ICC men’s T20 World Cup all-time leading run-scorer. In the 2021 edition, we hope to reach this individual milestone while also completing his tenancy as T20I captain by winning a trophy for the Indian cricket team.

3. Yuvraj Singh – 593 Runs (2007-2016)

Yuvraj Singh - 593 Runs (2007-2016). 3rd India's Leading Run-scorer in ICC T20 World Cup

Yuvraj Singh, India’s legendary all-rounder, ranks third among India’s leading run-scorer in the T20 World Cup. In the T20 World Cup matches he has played, Yuvraj Singh has 593 runs and 4 half-centuries to his name. Who can forget the six sixes he hit off Stuart Broad’s bowling in the group stage match? Andrew Flintoff got into a heated argument with the passionate left-hander, which backfired spectacularly as Yuvraj Singh unleashed a brutal display of power-hitting at Kingsmead. India scored more than 200 runs and won the game by an 18-run margin.

Yuvraj Singh set the stadium on fire again in the same edition, this time against Australia in the semi-finals. He smashed the Australian bowlers all over the place, scoring 70 runs at a strike rate of 233.33. Yuvraj has produced some of the most visually appealing knocks in the mega ICC event and was a major reason why India won the trophy in 2007.

4. MS Dhoni – 529 Runs (2007-2016)

MS Dhoni - 529 Runs (2007-2016) - India's Leading Run-scorer

MS Dhoni, the first winner of the ICC T20 World Cup, In the ICC tournament, the former captain has scored 529 runs at a healthy average of 35.26. Dhoni’s 33-ball 45 against South Africa in the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup is considered one of his best T20I innings. He and Rohit Sharma put on 85 runs for the fifth wicket to keep Team India in the game. When India took the field to bowl, they had momentum on their side, which they used to win the match and advance to the next round of the tournament. The only player in the top five who has not scored an ICC T20 World Cup half-century is the newly appointed mentor of Virat Kohli’s team (INDIA).

Statistics may not reflect the importance of some of MS Dhoni’s knocks for the team because of the number at which he batted. Dhoni also played a quickfire inning of 36 runs of 18 in the semi-final against the mighty Aussies. In the high-pressure game, team India produced Australia a massive target of 189 on the board. The match was won by India by a margin of 15 runs.

5. Gautam Gambhir – 524 Runs (2007-2012)

Gautam Gambhir - 524 Runs (2007-2012) India's Leading Run-scorer

Gautam Gambhir, the man for big notes, has some incredible stats when it comes to India’s major 2 World Cup finals (2007 T20 World Cup & 2011 World Cup). Becoming the 5th India’s leading run-scorer in the ICC T20 World Cup. In the ICC T20 World Cup, the former opener has 524 runs in 20 innings at a respectable batting average of 26.20, with many of them coming at crucial times. One such knock came against Pakistan in the inaugural T20 World Cup final. In the first innings, his 75 runs off 54 balls helped India reach a respectable total to challenge Pakistan’s batting line-up. Gambhir was India’s leading run-scorer in that tournament, finishing second only to Matthew Hayden on the all-time list.

Also, check out – Mithali Raj Net Worth – Salary, Career, Stats & Records, Biography & ICC Rankings.


Here are the top 5 India’s leading run-scorers in the ICC T20 World Cup, according to ESPNcricinfo’s all-time rankings. We hope that this article has increased your knowledge, and we would appreciate it if you could share your valuable thoughts in the comment section below.

Source – ESPNcricinfo

Hello, I'm a freelance writer and author. You talk to me about cricket, and I could talk to you all day. Writing about the sport gives me peace. I've been writing sports articles for years and enjoy it; I keep most of the recent activities on this blog up to date. I enjoy writing about a wide range of topics and learning about new and exciting subjects. I'm a cricket fan who likes to play the game. I hope you find my blogs informative.
Posts created 246