Top 5 Bowlers With The Most Wickets In IPL History | 2008 to 2021 Updates


We’ve seen and heard many times that T20 cricket favors batsmen, but several bowlers who went on to take the most wickets in IPL history were selected to play international cricket after engraving in the Indian Premier League. It should be noted that most of the time, it is the bowlers who turn the game for their team. Teams all over the world have realized that to win a tournament, they must have a strong team of bowlers.

This is also true for the IPL, the world’s largest T20 tournament. It has been observed over the years that teams with quality bowlers perform quite well, while those who struggle in this division generally. Which bowlers have taken the most wickets in the IPL?. The bowlers with the most wickets in IPL history. Four of the five players on this list have been with the league since its inception. Three of the top five bowlers are spinners, while the other two are pacers. Let’s take a look at the top 5 bowlers who has the most number of wickets in IPL history.

Top 10 IPL Bowling Records: Who Is The Highest Wicket Taker In IPL History?

Lasith Malinga, Who is the greatest pacer in IPL history, has taken a record 170 wickets in 122 games he played. Check out the table below for more information on who has the most wickets in the IPL.

RankPlayer NameMatches PlayedIPL WicketsBBI
1Lasith Malinga1221705/13
2Dwayne Bravo1511674/22
3Amit Mishra1541665/17
4Piyush Chawla1651574/17
5Harbhajan Singh1631505/18
6Ravichandran Ashwin1671454/34
7Sunil Narine1341435/19
8Bhuvneshwar Kumar1321425/19
9Yuzvendra Chahal1141394/25
10Jasprit Bumrah1061304/14

Top 5: Which Bowler Took Most Wickets in IPL History?

1. Lasith Malinga (MI)- 170 Wickets In IPL History

Lasith Malinga, one of the greatest bowlers in cricket history, played in the IPL for ten years, from 2009 to 2019, before retiring. Malinga, widely regarded as the greatest pacer in IPL history, has a record of 170 wickets in 122 games. With 28 scalps in 16 matches, he won the Purple Cap award in the fourth season of the IPL. Malinga began his career with the Mumbai Indians in the 2009 season and last appeared in the 2019 season. Even at that stage of his career, his final over in the 2019 final was enough to demonstrate his greatness. In the final, where two runs were needed, he took a wicket on the last ball. The match was won by Rohit Sharma’s team by one run and Mumbai Indians lifted their fourth IPL title.

2. Dwayne Bravo- 167 Wickets In IPL

Dwayne Bravo of the West Indies is the second name on the list, having played in the tournament (IPL) since its inception in 2008. He is the list’s second pacer, following Lasith Malinga. Bravo has been an important cog in the Chennai Super Kings’ bowling lineup, especially in the death overs. Along with MS Dhoni as captain, DJ Bravo’s potential has been utilized very effectively for the benefit of the team. The team’s all-rounder has appeared in 151 IPL games, averaging 24.31 with the ball and a strike rate of 22.94. In the 2013 season, he was awarded the purple cap for taking 32 wickets at an average of 9.15. With the bat, the all-rounder has also had several match-winning performances.

3. Amit Mishra- 166 Wickets

Amit Mishra is an Indian leg spinner who has 166 wickets in 154 games. He has previously played for the Deccan Chargers, Delhi Capitals, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the 2013 IPL, Amit Mishra went on to take a hat-trick for Sunrisers Hyderabad against the now-extinct Pune Warriors India. This was his third hat-trick wicket in the IPL, making him the first player in the IPL history to have three hat-tricks. He previously took a hat-trick for Delhi Capitals against Deccan Chargers in IPL 2008 and another for Deccan Chargers against Punjab Kings in IPL 2011. Amit Mishra, the third-highest wicket-taker in IPL history, went unsold in the mega auction of 2022. In the league, he has an impressive economy rate of 7.35 and has been crucial in taking wickets in the middle overs.

4. Piyush Chawla- 157 Wickets

Piyush Chawla holds the record for the fourth-most wickets in IPL history, with 157 wickets. He has played the majority of his IPL games for Kolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat, Chennai Super Kings, and Mumbai Indians. Piyush Chawla has taken 157 wickets in 165 matches, with an average of 27.39 and an economy rate of 7.88. He played a key role in Kolkata Knight Riders IPL wins in 2012 and 2014.

5) Harbhajan Singh- 150 Wickets

Harbhajan Singh, who has spent the majority of his IPL career with the Mumbai Indians as well as the Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, has taken the fifth-most wickets in IPL history with 150 wickets. Indian former cricketer Harbhajan Singh has taken 150 wickets in 163 games, with a league economy rate of 7.07 and an average of 26.86. Harbhajan Singh began his IPL career against RCB in 2008 and will retire from all forms of cricket in December 2021.


So, there you have it the most wickets in IPL history we hope that this article has covered everything you need to know about the highest-wicket takers in IPL history. This article (most wickets in IPL) is based on reports from other news sources, and ESPNcricinfo. Our website does not claim that all of the facts stated are authentically verified.

Category: IPL