ICC World Cup 2011 Team India Victory

ICC World Cup 2011 Team India Victory

India became the first home nation to win ICC World Cup 2011 when they defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at the Wankhede Stadium Mumbai on April 2, 2011. It was an awfully emotional journey for each Indian fan and for the Team because it was Sachin Tendulkar’s final look at cricket’s biggest amusement.

Having played in a record five World Cups for India before the ICC World Cup 2011, this was Sachin Tendulkar’s last chance to win the World cup title.

Team Sri Lanka won the toss and Jayawardene’s undefeated 103 took the islanders to 274/6 in fifty overs. India was in bother after they lost each Sachin and Sehwag at 31/2.

But it had been for the 109-run stand between captain MS Dhoni (91 not out) and Gautam Gambhir (97) that took India to victory side before Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh finished it off in style.

Earlier, India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan within the semi-final whereas Sri Lanka defeated New Zealand within the different semi-final.

Pakistan hoped to upstage Asian country at the geographical region Cricket Association arena in Mohali however the much-vaunted challenge fell away before the skilled Indian outfit.

In the final of the ICC World Cup 2011, Gautam Gambhir, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored 97 and 91* respectively to help India lift the World Cup for the first time since 1983. Yuvraj Singh was a player of the tournament for his good performances throughout the 2011 World Cup Series. Yuvi scored 362 runs and took fifteen wickets within the 2011 World Cup and helped India to lift the trophy.

ICC World Cup 2011 India

ICC World Cup 2011 Sri Lanka innings

Batsmen NameRunsBall4s6sSR
Upul Tharanga c Virender Sehwag b Zaheer Khan2200010.00
Tillakaratne Dilshan b Harbhajan Singh33493067.34
Kumar Sangakkara CPT WKT c MS Dhoni b Yuvraj Singh48675071.64
Mahela Jayawardene NOT OUT10388130117.04
Thilan Samaraweera lbw Yuvraj Singh21342061.76
Chamara Kapugedera c Suresh Raina b Zaheer Khan150020.00
Nuwan Kulasekara run out (MS Dhoni)323011106.66
Thisara Perera NOT OUT22931244.44
Muttiah Muralitharan
Suraj Randiv
Lasith Malinga
Extras (nb 2, w 6, b 1, lb 3)12
Total (6 wickets, 50 overs)274
Fall of wickets
1-17 (UP Tharanga, 6.1 ovs), 2-60 (T Dilshan, 16.3 ovs), 3-122 (K Sangakkara, 27.5 ovs), 4-179 (T Samaraweera, 38.1 ovs), 5-182 (CK Kapugedera, 39.5 ovs), 6-248 (N Kulasekara, 47.6 ovs)

India Bowling

BowlersOvsMRunsWktsEconDot Balls
Zaheer Khan1036026.0032
Shanthakumaran Sreesanth805206.5026
Munaf Patel904104.5531
Harbhajan Singh1005015.0024
Yuvraj Singh1004924.9028
Sachin Tendulkar201206.004
Virat Kohli10606.003

ICC World Cup 2011 India Innings

Batsmen NameRunsBalls4s6sSR
Virender Sehwag lbw Lasith Malinga02000.00
Sachin Tendulkar c Kumar Sangakkara b Lasith Malinga181420128.57
Gautam Gambhir b Thisara Perera971229079.50
Virat Kohli c & b Tillakaratne Dilshan35494071.42
MS Dhoni CPT WKT NOT OUT917982115.18
Yuvraj Singh NOT OUT21242087.50
Zaheer Khan
Shanthakumaran Sreesanth
Harbhajan Singh
Munaf Patel
Suresh Raina
Extras (w 8, b 1, lb 6)15
Total (4 wickets, 48.2 overs)277
Fall of wickets
1-0 (V Sehwag, 0.2 ovs), 2-31 (S Tendulkar, 6.1 ovs), 3-114 (V Kohli, 21.4 ovs), 4-223 (G Gambhir, 41.2 ovs)

Sri Lanka Bowling

BowlersOvsMRunsWktsEconDot Balls
Lasith Malinga904224.6631
Nuwan Kulasekara8.206407.6820
Thisara Perera905516.1127
Suraj Randiv904304.7724
Tillakaratne Dilshan502715.4014
Muttiah Muralitharan803904.8723

Dhoni takes the World Cup in his Style.

Twenty-eight years once Kapil dev’s and his team won the world cup in 1983, India recaptured the ICC world cup in 2011 at Wankhede Stadium against Sri Lanka. Gambhir saw out the rest of Lasith Malinga’s 1st spell and took calculated risks against the opposite seamers to make sure that India unbroken pace with the asking rate. it had been brave, intelligent batting under pressure. Virat Kohli (35) applied himself to the task of reconstructing the innings, serving to raise eighty-three for the third wicket before he fell to a superb one-handed return catch by Tillakaratne Dilshan.

ICC World Cup 2011 India

MS Dhoni promoted himself above Yuvraj Singh to join Gambhir. Together, the two batsmen set about controlling the run chase of 274, guarding against Muttiah Muralitharan, who posed a threat despite not being fully fit, and Malinga, whose pace and unique action merited careful handling.

Every year on April 2, cricket fans across the whole country celebrate the victory of the 2011 world cup. However, this year, the celebrations were completely different as a result of the country will observe the tenth anniversary of the 2011 world cup win. On the tenth anniversary of the World Cup win, we tend to congratulate all the members of the 2011 squad who fulfilled the dreams of one hundred twenty-five crore Indians

Read more at recent post about https://crickettipmaster.com/devdutt-padikkal/

Hello, I'm a freelance writer and author. You talk to me about cricket, and I could talk to you all day. Writing about the sport gives me peace. I've been writing sports articles for years and enjoy it; I keep most of the recent activities on this blog up to date. I enjoy writing about a wide range of topics and learning about new and exciting subjects. I'm a cricket fan who likes to play the game. I hope you find my blogs informative.
Posts created 246