Who scored the most runs in a single IPL season? – 2022 Updates

Who Are The Top 5 Batsmen With Most Runs Scored In An IPL Season-Cricket Tip Master

We’ve seen some of the greats of the IPL over the years, such as the fastest bowlers, best wicketkeepers, best spin bowlers, and some young talents, and in this article, we’ve listed the top 5 batsmen who have scored the most runs in a single IPL season. We all know that Virat Kohli scored 973 runs in 16 games in 2016 at an average of 81.08, which is the highest total ever. In the tournament, he had four centuries and seven half-centuries, with the best score of 113. Kohli also won the ‘Orange Cap’ as the leading run-scorer that season. Jos Buttler had his best IPL season in 2022, scoring 863 runs in 17 matches, making him the second-highest run-scorer in an IPL season.

The IPL 2022 season concluded with Hardik Pandya’s Gujarat Titans winning their first IPL title. The Indian team gained another potential captain for the future, the most important of which was Hardik’s return to form and fitness. He has answered every question about his fitness that Indian fans and experts had. Apart from Hardik and the team’s performance, Jos Buttler’s ferocious batting will be remembered. The top five are completed by Chris Gayle, David Warner, and Kane Williamson. In this article, we listed the top five batsmen with the most runs scored in an IPL season, as well as how much they scored.

Most Runs Scored in a Single Season of IPL:

RankingsPlayerYearMost Runs In An IPL SeasonHigh ScoreAvg10050
01.Virat Kohli201697311381.0847
02Jos Buttler202286311657.5344
03David Warner201684893*60.5709
04Kane Williamson20187358452.5008
05Chris Gayle2012733128*61.0817
Batsmen With Most Runs Scored In An IPL Season

1. Virat Kohli- 973 Runs In the 2016 IPL

Virat Kohli- 973 Runs In 2016 IPL

Virat Kohli fell 27 runs short of a century season. That was the first IPL season in which a single batsman scored four centuries. In the 2016 IPL, Virat Kohli set a new record for the most runs in a single season by an individual with 973, but RCB fell short of SRH’s total of 208 by just 8 runs. Kohli was batting like a dream, with every shot he took finding the boundary. In the IPL, 973 may never be broken again. Kohli hit 83 fours and 31 sixes that season.

Virat Kohli set the Indian Premier League records for most runs (973) and hundreds (4) in a single season in 2016. Following that, he scored 308 runs in 2017, 530 runs in 2018, 464 runs in 2019, 466 runs in 2020, 405 runs in 2021, and 341 runs in 2022.

Virat Kohli IPL Runs List From 2008 To 2022 IPL

YearMatchesTotal IPL RunsHigh ScoreBatting AvgSR10050
IPL Career Stats223662411336.20129.15544

2. Jos Buttler- 863 Runs In 2022 IPL

Jos Buttler- 863 Runs In 2022 IPL

Jos Buttler of England is second on this list of the most runs scored in a single IPL season. In the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League, Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler wore the Orange Cap (IPL). He got them in three different phases. The Englishman scored 863 runs in 17 matches, with an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05. Jos Buttler scored 491 runs in his first seven games. He scored 138 runs in his next seven games and 234 runs in his final three games. Jos Buttler finished the season with four centuries, including 83 fours and 45 sixes.

3. David Warner- 848 Runs In the 2016 IPL

David Warner- 848 Runs In 2016 IPL

In the same year, Virat Kohli scored 973 runs. With his leadership and batting abilities, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s captain led from the front. David Warner racked up 848 runs. This season, Warner was on fire, scoring 848 runs in seventeen matches, including nine half-centuries. His season average was 60.57, and his strike rate was 151.42. That season, the Australian cricketer had nine fifty-plus scores, with a best of 93*. That season, he hit 88 fours and 31 sixes.

4. Kane Williamson -735 Runs In the 2018 IPL

Kane Williamson -735 Runs In 2018 IPL

The BCCI has barred David Warner and Steve Smith from playing in the 2018 season due to their involvement in the Sandpapergate Scandal. Kane Williamson scored 735 runs in 17 IPL matches at an average of 52.50. Kane Williamson was an unlikely hero for SRH. They appointed him as the new captain, and he accepted the position with both hands. He began opening the batting and churned out eighth fifty-plus scores with a best of 84, propelling them to the final. SRH lost in the final to CSK, but Williamson made an impression in the IPL by bringing out his T20 game plan.

5. Chris Gayle- 733 Runs In 2012 IPL

Chris Gayle- 733 Runs In 2012 IPL

Chris Gayle had two 700-plus IPL seasons in a row in 2012 and 2013. During those two years, he was at the pinnacle of his batting abilities. Despite his heroics with the bat, he did not win an IPL title for RCB until he played for them from 2011 to 2017. To make the 2012 season his own, he hit 46 fours and as many as 59 sixes. His 175-run knock included 17 sixes. Riding the Gayle wave, RCB scored 263 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs, becoming the first team in IPL history to do so. RCB’s 263 against PWI remains the highest team total in the event’s history. The Universe Boss is ranked fifth in the IPL for the most runs scored in a single season.

Read also- Ranking the top 5 oversea players of all time in IPL


We hope you enjoyed reading about the 5 players with the most runs scored in a single IPL season. The information was gathered from the official ESPNcricinfo website. Please share your thoughts in the comments section about the highest-runs scorers in a single IPL edition. Mentioned content is subject to change at any time. Our website makes no guarantees about the information’s accuracy.

Category: IPL