ICC World Test Championship Highest Run-scorer In The Tournament.

steve smith and marnus labuschagne

Hello, we are listing the Top 5 World Test Championship Highest Run-scorer in this article. The first edition of the ICC WTC 2021 finished with New Zealand emerging as champions after a 2-year fight between 9 countries. Kyle Jamieson’s bowling performance helped the Kane Williamson-led side overcome India by 8 wickets in the WTC 2021 final. In the encounter, the New Zealand bowler took 7 wickets for 61 runs, smashing the Indian batting order. With a 139-run target in the second innings, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor hammered unbeaten 52 and 47 run-knocks, respectively, coupled with a 96-run stand, to overcome India by 8 wickets.

ICC World Test Championship Highest Run-scorer In The Tournament.

Over the course of two years, many batsmen stole the show with their batting during the tournament. The ICC World Test Championship saw many bilateral Test series between the nine participating teams. India and New Zealand finished first and second in the points table, respectively, with higher PCT (Points of Percentage) than the other teams, and qualified for the final.

Ranking Top 5 World Test Championship Highest run-scorer.

1. Marnus Labuschagne – 1675 (World Test Championship highest run-scorer).

Marnus Labuschagne world test championship highest run-scorer

Marnus Labuschagne, an Australian batsman, took 1st place in the ICC World Test Championship as the leading run-scorer. During the tournament, Labuschagne participated in 13 WTC matches for Australia. The right-handed batter smashed 1675 runs in 23 innings, averaging 72.82. He also had the most centuries in the tournament, with five. Also, the 27-year-old smashed 9 half-centuries. His best performance in the tournament was a double century of 215 runs against New Zealand in January 2020.

2. Joe Root – 1660 runs, 2nd leading run-scorer in the World Test Championship.

Joe Root – 1660 runs, 2nd leading run-scorer in the World Test Championship.

Joe Root got to finish the ICC World Test Championship as the second-highest run-scorer. After playing 20 matches for England, the skipper scored 1660 runs in 37 innings during the tournament. The right-batting hander’s average was 47.42. During the tournament, Root smashed three centuries and eight half-centuries. He had two double centuries out of his three centuries. Root’s highest score in the tournament was 228 runs against Sri Lanka in January 2021.

3. Steve Smith – 1341 World Test Championship Runs.

Steve Smith - 1341 Runs.

Steve Smith finished the ICC World Test Championship as the third-highest run-scorer. Smith participated in 13 matches during the tournament. The Australian batsman scored 1341 runs in 22 innings, averaging 63.85. During the tournament, the right-handed batsman also hit four centuries and seven half-centuries. Smith also hit a double century in the tournament, a 211-run knock against England in The Ashes 2019. It was also his most powerful knock of the tournament.

4. Ben Stokes – 1334 Runs.

Ben Stokes.

England cricketer Ben Stokes was one of the best performers during the ICC World Test Championship. With 1334 runs scored in 32 innings, the left-handed batsman finished fourth in the tournament. During the tournament, he appeared in 17 games for England. The 30-year-old cricketer had a 46-run average and 4 centuries and 6 fifties. His highest score was 176, which he achieved in a match against the West Indies in July 2020.

5. Ajinkya Rahane – 1159 Runs.

India Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane.

Ajinkya Rahane finished the ICC World Test Championship as the fifth-highest run-scorer. With 1159 runs in 30 innings, the right-handed batsman was also India’s leading scorer in the tournament. Rahane played in each of the Indian team’s 18 games over the course of the tournament. The Indian vice-captain batted at a 42.92 average, smashing three centuries and six half-centuries. The middle-order batsman’s highest score was 115 runs against South Africa in October 2019.

ICC World Test Championship.

World Test Championship Final 2021.

FAQs About ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021.

Q. Who Won the World Test Championship?

New Zealand won their first ICC WTC title in 21 years on Wednesday, defeating India by 8 wickets in the World Test Championship Final 2021 at the Rose Bowl in Southampton. The Test mace, which was previously awarded to the No. 1 Test side in the ICC Test rankings, was lifted by Kane Williamson’s Champion side.

Q. Who is No 1 Test team?

New Zealand has become the world’s top-ranked Test team. The team accomplished this after defeating England 1-0 in the first of two-Test series on the same day. While the first test ended in a tie, New Zealand easily won the second test by eight wickets on Day Four at Edgbaston in Birmingham on June 13, 2021. This is England’s first home Test series loss since 2014. New Zealand now leads the ICC Men’s Team Test Rankings with 123 points, while India fell to second with 121 points.

Q. When was the WTC final?

From June 18 to June 23, 2021, India vs New Zealand at Southampton City in England.


So there you have it: ICC World Test Championship Highest Run-scorer In The Tournament (2021 Updates). We hope you found this list useful. Also, please share your valuable thoughts on this article in the comments section below.

Source: Cricbuzz & EspnCricinfo.