Here’s A List Of IPL 2008-2020 Emerging Player Award Winners.


The IPL 2008-2020 Emerging Player of the year award rewards the best young Indians and overseas talent who impresses with his ability and maturity and promises a bright future going forward.

IPL 2008-2020 Emerging Players List

IPL is providing an incredible platform to the young talents to showcase their great skill is perhaps the most significant contribution of the IPL in the cricketing world.

This platform IPL 2008-2020 is made for lots of young talents coming from a distant part of the world, the league had been the inflection point in their career.

Here are some recognizable young guns of cricket Rashid Khan’s masterpiece spin, or Jasprit Bumrah’s toe-crushing yorkers, or Hardik Pandya’s blitzkrieg all these acts first made their appearance in the Indian Premier League.

Here are the eligibility criteria for the Emerging Player of the Season award:

  1. The player Should be born on or after 1 April 1993.
  2. The player should’ve played five or fewer Test matches or 20 or fewer ODIs.
  3. A player should’ve played 25 or fewer IPL matches (at the start of the season).
  4. A player shouldn’t have won the Emerging Player award in the past.

IPL 2008-2020 Emerging Player Award Winners list;

1.) Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)-2008
2.) Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)-2009
3.) Saurabh Tiwary ( Mumbai Indians)-2010
4.) Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)-2011
5.) Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)-2012
6.) Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)-2013
7.) Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)-2014
8.) Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals)-2015
9.) Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)-2016
10.) Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)-2017
11.) Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)-2018
12.) Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders)-2019
13.) Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)-2020

1.) Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)-2008.

 IPL 2008-2020

Shreevats Goswami was the wicket-keeper batsman of the Virat Kohli-led squad which won the 2008 U-19 World Cup. He won the first Emerging Player Award in the 2008 edition. Plying his trade for the RCB in 2008, Goswami accumulated 82 runs in 4 matches, an average of 27.33 with one fifty and a strike rate of 96.47. Currently, he is playing for team SRH in the IPL.

2.) Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)-2009.

rohit sharma deccan chargers  IPL 2008-2020

The most successful IPL captain Rohit Sharma with 5 IPL title-winning Captain.

The 22-year old young man managed 362 runs in 16 games at an unimpressive strike rate of 114.92. Along with RP Singh, the hitman was one of the few capped Indian players in Adam Gilchrist’s squad.

3.) Saurabh Tiwary ( Mumbai Indians)-2010.

Saurabh Tiwary IPL 2008-2020

Saurabh Tiwary is from MS Dhoni’s home state Jharkhand India. Although Sourab Tiwary didn’t really leave a mark in the long run, he had very few great seasons with Mumbai Indians (MI). Tiwary stockpiled 419 runs from 16 games at a fantastic strike rate of 135.59.

4.) Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)-2011.

IPL 2008-2020 Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Iqbal Abdulla, a great left-arm spinner he’s from Mumbai, plied his trade for Kolkata Knight Riders from 2008 to 2013. In 2011, Iqbal picked 16 wickets and helped his team to reach the playoffs for the first time.

5.) Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)-2012.

 IPL 2008-2020

Mandeep Singh Kings XI Punjab right-hand batsman had a tremendous campaign with the bat in 2012, where he piled up a total of 432 runs in 16 games with a strike rate of 126.32 an average of 27.00.

6.) Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)-2013

 IPL 2008-2020

Samson’s move from KKR to Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2013 turned out to be a fruitful affair. Sanju scored 206 runs from his 11 games at an average of 25.75 and bagged the award in his very first season.

7.) Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)-2014.

punjab axar patel  IPL 2008-2020

Axar Patel Gujarat-born Left-arm spinner in his first season for the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) bagged 17 wickets and maintained an economy rate of 6.14. in as many matches. Kings XI Punjab to their first-ever final of the IPL tournament.

8.) Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals)-2015.

 IPL 2008-2020

Shreyas Iyer began his IPL career with the Delhi franchise and was tipped as a special player. Iyer proved his mettle that year by hammering 439 runs in his 14 games that year with an average of 33.77 with 4 fifties at a reasonably good strike rate of 128.36. Under Iyer captaincy, the Delhi team reached its first IPL final in 2020.

9.) Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)-2016.

 IPL 2008-2020

Mustafizur Rahman, the Bangladesh Bowler was the first overseas player to bag the IPL emerging player award in 2016. This man made his international debut in 2015, his trade for SunRisers Hyderabad in 2016, and performed exceedingly well for them. In 16 matches, the left-arm bowler snapped 17 wickets at 24.76 with an economy rate of 6.90.

10.) Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)-2017.

 IPL 2008-2020

Basil Thampi Indian fast bowler impressed in the 2017 season while playing for Suresh Raina-led Gujarat Lions. That season he snapped 12 wickets in 11 games with best figures of 3/29. He didn’t pick many wickets, his effectiveness in death overs, and the ability to bowl perfect yorkers made him the favorite to grab this award.

11.) Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)-2018.

Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals) IPL 2008-2020

Rishabh Pant set the league on fire with his incredible batting consistency in the 2018 edition of the IPL. He scored a total of 684 runs at an average of 52.61, with a strike rate of 173.60. Along with 4 half-centuries and a century.

12.) Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders)-2019.

Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders) IPL 2008-2020

Shubman Gill didn’t get much more opportunity in his first season at the club.

Gill scored a total of 296 runs in 14 games with an average of 32.89 including three fifties at a reasonably good strike rate of 124.37. and winning the ‘Emerging Player of the year Award’.

13.) Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)-2020.

Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)-2020  IPL 2008-2020

Playing his very first Indian Premier League edition, DDP impressed one and all with his classy batting at the top of the order for Royal Challengers Bangalore. The 20-year old youngster left-hand batsman finished as the eighth-highest run-scorer in the season, with 473 runs from 15 matches, at a strike rate of 124.80 and an average of 31.53.

This was all about IPL 2008-2020 so far let’s wait for the 14th edition emerging player title winner.
For the latest cricket news and updates,

Hello, I'm a freelance writer and author. You talk to me about cricket, and I could talk to you all day. Writing about the sport gives me peace. I've been writing sports articles for years and enjoy it; I keep most of the recent activities on this blog up to date. I enjoy writing about a wide range of topics and learning about new and exciting subjects. I'm a cricket fan who likes to play the game. I hope you find my blogs informative.
Posts created 246