Who has scored the most runs in a single IPL season in history? | Ranked

List of top 5 players who has scored most runs in IPL in one season | All-time Ranked

Here are the top five players in IPL history who have scored the most runs in a single season. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular and well-known cricket tournaments in the world. We’ve seen some outstanding batting performances over the years. In the Indian Premier League, the Orange Cap is given to the batsman who scores the most runs in a single season. Over the years, both Indian and international players have led the run-charts in the tournament. Virat Kohli scored 973 runs in the 2016 IPL season, which remains the most ever scored in an IPL season. Here are the top 5 players who have scored the most runs in an IPL season since the league’s inception.

List of top 5 players who has scored most runs in IPL in one season | All-time Ranked

List of top 5 players who has scored most runs in IPL in one season | All-time Ranked
RankingsPlayer NameYearIPL TeamTotal runs scored in one IPL seasonBatting average10050
1.Virat Kohli2016Royal Challengers Bangalore97381.0847
2.David Warner2016Sunrisers Hyderabad84860.5709
3.Kane Williamson2018Sunrisers Hyderabad73552.5008
4.Chris Gayle2012Royal Challengers Bangalore73361.0817
5.Michael Hussey2013Chennai Super Kings73352.3506
Most Runs In A Single IPL Season

1. Virat Kohli (RCB)- 973 Runs In IPL 2016 Edition

Former Indian captain Virat Kohli is without a doubt one of the best batsmen the game has ever seen in this generation. Virat Kohli currently holds the record for most runs in the IPL. Virat  Kohli leads the list with 973 runs at an average of 81.08 in the IPL 2016 edition. During the 2016 IPL, Kohli smashed 7 half-centuries and 4 centuries at a strike rate of 152.03. Scoring 973 IPL runs in just 16 IPL matches is not a small feat. Since the 2008 edition of the IPL, not a single player has appeared to be on track to break the 900-run mark, with the hope that no other players will endeavor to do so in the near future. His consistent batting performances throughout the season assisted the RCB team in reaching the finals. SRH, on the other hand, defeated RCB in the final clash by 8 runs.

2. David Warner (SRH)- 848 Runs In IPL 2016 Season

David Warner was the second-highest run-scorer in the 2016 IPL after Virat Kohli. Warner gave his team a spectacular start at the top, scoring up to eight half-centuries during the tournament. David Warner led SRH to the final and helped them win their first IPL title against RCB. Warner scored nine half-centuries during the tournament, averaging more than 60.57. He scored 848 runs in just 17 matches. David Warner wore the IPL Orange Cap during the 2019 season. David Warner managed to score 692 runs in 12 matches, including one century and eight half-centuries at an average of 69.20. 

3. Kane Williamson- 735 Runs In IPL 2018

Kane Williamson, the captain of New Zealand, is known for his calm batting on the ground. Williamson was signed by his first IPL franchise in 2015. Williamson was a member of the team that won their first IPL title in 2016 under the captaincy of David Warner. However, following the IPL 2018 mega auction, David Warner was banned from playing in the 2018 IPL season and stripped of the captaincy, and the SRH franchise offered Williamson the position of captain for the 2018 season. Against all likelihoods, the New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson batted with a different dimension, scoring 735 runs, the third-highest by any player in an IPL season, at a batting average of 52.50 and a strike rate of 142.44.

Furthermore, he led his team to the final, only to be defeated a second time in the play-offs by the Chennai Super Kings. Williamson scored a crucial 47 runs in the final against CSK, helping the team reach a competitive 178-run total in the first innings, with David Warner out of contention for any leadership role. Shane Watson hit a century in the second innings to derail SRH’s dream for a second IPL title.

4. Chris Gayle (RCB)- 733 Runs In IPL 2012

The Universe Boss Chris Gayle is one of the most fearsome batsmen in cricket history, and the best batsman to have ever played T20 cricket. He is ranked fourth in the most runs in a single IPL season. He is well-known for his devastating batting performance. Chris Gayle became the Orange Cap holder in the 2012 IPL season, despite playing only 14 Innings out of 15 matches. Chris Gayle scored 733 runs at a batting average of 61.08, including 59 sixes, one century, and eight half-centuries, with a strike rate of 160.74.

5. Michael Hussey (CSK)- 733 Runs In IPL 2013

Former Australian Michael Hussey, also known as “Mr. Cricket,” played for the IPL teams Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, and he became the second batsman in the competition to score a century, following New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum. Michael Hussey was the standout performer in the 2013 Indian Premier League. During the 2013 IPL season, Michael Hussy scored six half-centuries. He scored 733 runs in 17 games, with a batting average of 52.36. His consistent run-scoring helped CSK reach the tournament final. Unfortunately, CSK lost that game by 23 runs in the end.


We hope you enjoyed reading about the 5 players with the most runs in a single IPL season. The information was gathered from the official ESPNcricinfo website. Please share your thoughts in the comments section about the highest-runs scorers in a single IPL edition. Mentioned content is subject to change at any time. Our website makes no guarantees about the information’s accuracy.

Category: IPL