Virat Kohli To Step Down As RCB Captain After The Second Leg Of IPL 2021

Virat Kohli To Step Down As RCB Captain Following the 2021 IPL

Virat Kohli to step down as RCB captain after the second leg of IPL 2021. The ability and hunger of the Indian Cricket Team’s Captain, popularly known as the Run Machine, ViratKohli, to score daddy hundreds has taken the cricket world by storm. The fact that he is ranked No. 1 in ODIs, No. 2 in Test cricket, and No. 3 in T20Is demonstrates how the stylist top-order batsman has evolved over the years. The flamboyant cricketer captained the Indian team that won the 2008 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, and King Kohli hasn’t looked back since. He is a modern-day cricketer who is aggressive and vocal on the field.

Virat Kohli To Step Down As RCB Captain Following the 2021 IPL
Virat Kohli To Step Down As RCB Captain Following the 2021 IPL

Kohli joined the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in 2008 and was named captain in 2013. In 2016, he led the league by scoring 973 runs, earning him the Orange Cap at the end of the 9th IPL season. The highest-paid cricketer in the IPL, Virat Kohli, was the first to be retained by his franchise ahead of the IPL 2018 Player Auction and will continue to captain his team. However, current Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has announced that he will step down as RCB captain at the end of the IPL 2021 season this year.

When Virat Kohli Will Resign As RCB Captain?

Virat has been the captain of RCB since 2013, but the team has yet to win a title in the Indian Premier League. The franchise has produced a slew of superstars over the years, including Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Shane Watson, and others. Virat led RCB to the IPL 2016 final, but they were defeated by SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Virat Kohli has announced that he will step down as RCB captain after the 2021 IPL. ‘This will be my final IPL as RCB captain,’ Virat Kohli said. “I want to thank all of the RCB fans for believing in me and supporting me,” the 32-year-old Virat Kohli said in a video released by the Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday.

Virat Kohli IPL Captaincy Record (2013-2021)

Virat Kohli has been with the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) since 2008. He is the only player to have appeared in every season of the IPL with the same team. Kohli was named RCB captain in 2011. Kohli has captained the team for nine seasons but has yet to win a trophy. So far, in 132 matches, the team has won 62 and lost 66. So far, the best season finish under him has been RCB’s runner-up finish in 2016. Under Kohli’s captaincy, the team only made the playoffs twice: in 2015 and 2020. So, let’s take a look at a few of Virat’s RCB records.

Virat Kohli IPL Captaincy Record (2013-2021)
Image Source – CricketNext
  • As captain, Virat has scored the most runs in IPL history.
  • In 2016, Virat Kohli delivered one of the most stunning batting performances in IPL history. In the season, he amassed a staggering 973 runs in 16 innings at an average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03, indicating that he not only got the big runs but did so at an alarming strike rate.
  • Kohli is the youngest captain in IPL history, having taken the lead position at the age of 22.
  • Kohli has led RCB in 132 IPL games, which is the second-most for any captain in IPL history. In terms of IPL matches played as a captain, he is only one match behind MS Dhoni (196).
Total Matches Played As Captain132
Win Ratio48.04

Virat Kohli IPL Stats Year Wise (2008-21)

Virat Kohli IPL Stats Year Wise (2008-21)
Matches NOTotal RunsHigh ScoreAvgBFSR100s504s6sCTST

Virat Kohli To Step Down As Indian T20 Captain After The T20 World Cup

Prominently, Virat Kohli had announced last week that he will step down as Indian T20 captain after this year’s T20 World Cup. Since 2017, Virat Kohli has led the Indian limited-overs team, but a trophy-less cabinet has put a lot of pressure on his batting, as the man with 70 international centuries has failed to score any in the last couple of years.

Indian T20 Captain After The T20 World Cup

After the T20 World Cup, Rohit Sharma is expected to take over as Indian T20 captain. However, the race for vice-captain appears to be heating up, with Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah emerging as strong contenders.

You might be interested in knowing The Most Test Cricket Wins as Captain | Most Successful Captain In Test Cricket (All-Time Ranking)

We hope that this article has given you all of the information you need about Virat Kohli to step down as RCB captain after the second leg Of IPL 2021. This information is derived from various websites and Our website makes no guarantees about the information’s accuracy.

Source –

Category: IPL
Hello, I'm a freelance writer and author. You talk to me about cricket, and I could talk to you all day. Writing about the sport gives me peace. I've been writing sports articles for years and enjoy it; I keep most of the recent activities on this blog up to date. I enjoy writing about a wide range of topics and learning about new and exciting subjects. I'm a cricket fan who likes to play the game. I hope you find my blogs informative.
Posts created 246