How & When IPL Started? History of the IPL (Indian Premier League).


How & When IPL Started? History of the IPL.

How & When IPL Started? History of the IPL The Indian Premier Cricket league In India,

IPL is the Richest oldest and most Popular League in the Cricketing world,

Indian Premier League by 8 teams representing 8 Different cities in INDIA.

IPL was launched by the Indian Businessman and The BCCI Vise President Lalith MODI in the year 2008.

IPL is one of the most attended leagues in the world of Cricket.

So far They Have Been a total of 13 seasons of the IPL tournaments.

Season 13 IPL Most likely to be started on 29th of March 2020 and finish on 24th May 2020,

But By That time it’s suspended due to COVID-19 pandemic situations.

Then later the BBCI President Sourav Ganguly  Rescheduled the Season 13 IPL from September 19th, 2020 to 10 November 2020 in the UAE(Dubai).

The 2021 Indian Premier League Is about to Start From the date of 09 April 2021.

Now Let’s Take a look back at the last 13 seasons of IPL.

IPL Teams List
Resource From Dreamteamcric India

IPL Season 1:

2008 the first season of IPL through the world’s attention with big names such as GOD of cricket Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(MSD), Shane Warne,

The Indian Great Wall Rahul Dravid, and Sourav Ganguly.

Switching to a league of different conventional Cricket,

The 2008 Season title winners were RAJASTHAN ROYALS and the Player of The Series was Shane Watson.

IPL Season 2:

2009 The Second Season of IPL This IPL Season was Conducted in SA(South Africa).

As the Govt refused to provide Security as it lasted with the Govt General Elections.

In This IPL season, MANISH PANDEY on19-year-Old youngster.

Became the First Indian batsman to Score an Indian Premier League Century of IPL History.

Deccan Chargers the bottom place team won the IPL Season 2 title For the first time.

Well, Adam Gilchrist was the player of the Series.

IPL Season 3:

2010 The 3rd Season of IPL Sachin Tendulkar Clinched the man of the Series Award.

And own The Orange Cap in this season.

Unfortunately, MI(Mumbai Indians) Finished the season by runners up.

And with CSK (Chennai Super Kings) Won Their first IPL Title of The Season.

IPL Season 4:

2011 Season 4 The Indian Premier League Went into its 4th season with a total of 10 teams,

The 2 teams were added to the list with PWI (Pune Warriors India) & Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Chennai Super Kings won the title for the second time in the 4th Season.

Chris Gayle was the player of the Series.

IPL Season 5:

2012 season 5 The teams were reduced from 10 to 9 with the termination of Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Due to a breach in BCCI’s terms and conditions.

On the Brighter Side Sunil Narine Player Of the Series.

KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) has under The captaincy of Gautam Gambhir to The First IPL season Title.

IPL Season 6:

2013 Season 6 The Controversy was the Highlight of the season with the spot-fixing scandal rocking T20 Cricket,

In may, 2013 Rajasthan royals Player S.Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila & Ankeet Chavan were arrested on charges of Spot-fixing.

Deccan Charges Saw its end as a Franchise. and was Replaced By Sunrisers Hyderabad.

And The Mumbai Indians were The Champions of the Season 6.

Shane Watson Once Again becomes the Player of the Series.

IPL Season 7:

2014 Season 7 The IPL(Indian Premier League) was Back to 8 Teams With Pune Warriors Pulling out India.

Well, it’s again Gautam Gambhir Lead the Second IPL title to Kolkata Knight Riders.

So Glenn MAXWELL Became the Player of the Series.

IPL Season 8:

2015 season 8 Mumbai Indians Won their Second IPL Title Under Rohit Shama’s Captaincy.

As well as Andre Russell Was The Player of the Series.

IPL Season 9:

2016 Season 9 Sunrisers Hyderabad was the Winner of the Season IPL Title against RCB( Royal Challengers Bangalore).

Well Then The RCB Team Finishes of as Runners Up Of the Season 9.

And The master of all format Cricket Also Called as Run Machine VIRAT KOHLI Became the Player of the Season with 4 Centuries and 7 Fifties with a total of 973 Highest Runs By an Individual Player.

Virat Kohli RCB
Resource from

Accordingly, the Following Spot-fixing and Betting scandals CSK(Chennai Super Kings) & RR(Rajasthan Royals) were Suspended From The Indian Premier League.

IPL Season 10:

2017 Season 10 The Hitman Rohit Sharma Lead The Mumbai Indians to win Their 3rd IPL Title.

Then The BEN STOKES become the Player of the Series,

And this was the last season of two Franchises One is Rising Pune Supergiant & Gujarat Lions. And Then which Replaces The CSK and RR Teams.

IPL Season 11:

2018 Season 11, After 2 years of Suspension CSK & RR teams Returned to action in the Indian Premier League.

And CSK Clinching Their 3rd IPL Title and once again Sunil Narine Player Of the Series.

2018 also saw the infamous ball-tampering scandal involving Steve Smith and David Warner. The Ripple effect of which also affected RR and SRH.

IPL Season 12:

2019 Season 12 The Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings(CSK) By just 1 Run to Win Their 4th Title in the IPL Finals.

Delhi Daredevils were Renamed as Delhi Capitals. Andre Russel Became the Player of the Series.

IPL Season 13:

2020 Season 13 Once Again Mumbai Indians Did it For the Franchise. MI won by 5 wickets The 5th IPL title against Delhi Capitals in UAE International Stadium.

Jofra Archer Became the Player of the Series.

Read more…